Bag Lady, Eh?

When I was a kid, there was song that released entitled “Bag Lady” by Erykah Badu. I recently heard this song playing somewhere and it really caught my attention so started listening to the lyrics. Although Ive heard this song thousands of times, I never really caught the psychology behind it before. (Oh, you didnt know? Psych stuff is my “thing”)

I wonder how many people actually love this song but dont REALLY get what she’s saying.

We were given a set of circumstances in our life. Some of us have bags others have luggage. (I dont know about you, but i was dealt the “luxury” of being given luggage)

Some of us are more aware of the extra weight we carry than others.(sometimes I think I may be overly conscious of mine)

What’s interesting though is how this baggage plays a part in our everyday life, and how we pass this baggage down from generation to generation.

What baggage are you carrying? Oh, and if you say none…you have tons.

Are you going to continue to carry it or drop it off at your next stop? (Dont know how? Keep fighting until you find out)

Drop that baggage, Girl!

Thats Totally Supermom!

Watch the Video and Read the Lyrics

Bag lady you gone hurt your back
Dragging all them bags like that
I guess nobody ever told you
All you must hold on to
Is you, is you, is you

One day all them bags gone get in your way
One day all them bags gone get in your way
I said one day all them bags gone get in your way
One Day all them bags gone get in your way

So pack light
Pack light
Pack light
Ooh ooh

Bag lady you gone miss your bus
You can’t hurry up
Cause you got too much stuff
When they see you comin
Niggas take off runnin
From you it’s true oh yes they do

One day he gone say you crowdin my space
One day he gone say you crowdin my space
I said one day he gone say you crowdin my space
One day he gone say you crowdin my space

So pack light
Pack light
Pack light
Ooh ooh

Girl I know sometimes it’s hard
And we can’t let go
Oh when someone hurts you oh so bad inside
You can’t deny it you can’t stop crying
So oh, oh, oh
If you start breathin
Then you won’t believe it
You’ll feel so much better
(So much better baby)

Bag lady
Let it go, let it go, let it go, let it go
Ooh, ooh
Girl you don’t need it
I betcha love can make it better
Betcha love can make it better
Betcha love can make it better
(Need someone to love you right)
Betcha love can make it better
(I betcha love, betcha love)
Betcha love can make it better
Betcha love can make it better
Betcha love can make it better
Betcha love can make it better
(I betcha love, betcha love)
Betcha love can make it better
(I betcha love, I betcha love, oh)
Betcha love can make it better
Betcha love can make it better
(Oh…)
Betcha love can make it better…

Bag lady, hmm
Let it go, let it go, let it go, let it go
Girl you don’t need that, hmm

Leave a Reply

