Whatever Comes Our Way, We are Strong and We are Brave.

My beautiful minivan (yes, I said minivan and I also used the adjective beautiful) completely cut off on me! I didnt notice until I hit the gas, and it did nothing.

I turned the van off and turned the key to crank it again.

Nothing.

I repeated the before stated process.

Nothing.

Repeated again about 10 times and nothing.

So, as the people in the vehicles around me were expressing their displeasure that I missed the light, I called my wonderful husband, the firefighter. Im so thankful that I just so happen to be at the very edge of his department’s district. It was his opportunity to rescue me instead of a stranger and that he did. He and one of his fellow firefighters pushed me out of the middle of the busy busy busy street!!

Long story short we were very close to our church and some church family helped us get my precious minivan to the church parking lot.

As all of this was happening, a few things happened:

1- I began to think about how much it would cost to tow and fix the van. (we knew it was the alternator-whatever that is, and I was very far from home or our mechanic)

2- I began to think about how much money was in the bank.

3- Well….Mainly I just went back and forth between 1 and 2.

God is so smart! He knew this would hapen and had impressed me a few weeks prior to start reading a book called “Parenting by the Spirit” by Sally Hohnberger. In the book Sally says this:

Many parents, who have never had a genuine RELATIONSHIP with God, are asking their children to “be good” and fight against Satan without a vital connection with Jesus. How can our children war against powers and principalities without Christ? They cant! We are asking them to do the impossible, and then labeling them rebellious and disobedient when they fail. How crazy we are to send our child to battle with Satan alone, unaided by Divinity

That got me to thinking. I have a relationship with God, but is it sufficient enough to fight against Satan? Is it where I could teach my children how to have a quality relationship with God?

She also says:

One of the biggest tasks we face in parenting today is to help our children overcome wrong habits of thinking, feeling, or reacting and to lead them into right habits in these areas. Without God’s help, this task is impossible. Therefore, He must perform IN US the very work we wish to see performed in our children…..

I just so happened to have read the second quote the morning that my van died. I decided that I was going to make a conscious decision to trust what my God says in His Word.

Isnt God HILARIOUS!!! The morning I made that decision…

BOOM!!!

The Test.

So I decided to change my thinking. Instead of worrying about money, Id stand on His Word.

He said he’d take care of me.

He said to not worry.

He said to not be afraid.

So, I wasnt.

I was numb! LOL!!!!! Just NUMB! I felt nothing! LOL

I was pleasantly surprised by what he used to minister to me.

He provided me transportation for that day and the next WITHOUT ME ASKING. Thats a whole notha’ post, yall! I was so touched.

But what was even better…..

What he used to melt that numb feeling into joy!

So, we’re riding home and I decide to turn on some music for my babies. I chose this VBS song:

Lyrics:

We will trust, trust in GOD ALONE,

We will stand, stand upon HIS WORD,

and WHATEVER comes our way,

We are STRONG, and we are BRAVE.  

GOD ALONE. HIS WORD. WHATEVER IT IS. WE ARE STRONG AND BRAVE.

I cant depend on my bank account.

I cant depend on my husband’s job.

I cant depend on my family.

I have to depend on God ALONE.

Knowing that WHATEVER comes my way…

I can be STRONG and BRAVE.

He has my back.

ERRRRDAY. ALL DAY!

ITS TRUE! I CAN!

Im one step closer to teaching my children how to depend on God.

And guess what? God provided the funds to fix my beautiful van, too!

Happy Sabbath, Yall.

Thats Totally SuperMom

Its all in how you carry it. Let that load GO! Picture taken from Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/73957618857715163/

Its all in how you carry it. Let that load GO!
Picture taken from Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/73957618857715163/

One thought on “Whatever Comes Our Way, We are Strong and We are Brave.

  1. Shushannah Smith says:

    Awesome post! I totally agree with all you said and can relate. God regularly reminds me of just what you said above (apparently, I need the reminder. LOL) to connect with Him and teach my kids to do the same. Thanks for sharing! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

